Planet X or Ribble for a first carbon

Robd263
Robd263 Posts: 52
edited January 2014 in Road buying advice
Hi

I've been riding for a few years and started a few sportives last year. I have a 8 year old Dawes 500.

I now have a £1000 cycle scheme voucher and about £280 to put in my self.

I know the advice is really to try bikes first and I have tried a few but I just can't tell the difference with most. I'm therfore after a recommendation. I'm looking for something to use on sportives and just fun weekend riding. No plans to race.

Having done a lot of research I have narrowed it down to planet x or Ribble as they seem to offer the most value for money although I'll admit the different components could not be more confusing.

The bikes I am considering are the planet x pro carbon or rt57 and the Ribble r872 (although most of the Ribble bikes look like they would suit my needs).

I am looking for any advice on these bikes as to what people think would suit my needs, and offers the better components etc and from anyone with experience e of these bikes.

I'm 174cm and just under 12 stone.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Rob

Comments

• Semantik
    Semantik Posts: 537