What is your 1 tip to help improve someones riding?

jonnyashworth
jonnyashworth Posts: 547
edited January 2014 in MTB general
I have been riding mountain bikes for about 5/6 years now and still absolutely love it. I would by no means class myself as a technically advanced rider or for that matter particularly fit and like most blokes have an attitude that I can do a bit of homework and teach myself to be a better rider. Also like most of us the amount of time I get to spend on my bike is limited due to work + family + beer commitments so a formal training regime is out of the question. I realise that the best way to improve is to have some skills tuition (but that's not what this thread is about). I would like to know what 1 tip you would give me (or anybody) to incorporate in my weekend ride to try to improve my technique as a rider??

Please try not to repeat what anyone else posts! and no +1'splease.
Yeti SB66c 2013

Comments

• angry_bird
    angry_bird Posts: 3,786
    Keep your head up and looking at where you want to go, not down at your front wheel.
  • Kowalski675
    Kowalski675 Posts: 4,412
    Book a skills course.
  • arran77
    arran77 Posts: 9,260
    Ride with better riders and learn from them.
    "Arran, you are like the Tony Benn of smut. You have never diluted your depravity and always stand by your beliefs. You have my respect sir and your wife my pity" :lol:

seanoconn
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Lay off the brakes. Many crashes are caused by over use of brakes causing wash outs.
  • Cqc
    Cqc Posts: 951
    Avoid doing unnecessary stuff the pros do when riding in video edits such as skidding and putting the inside foot down on every corner because it looks good on film. Of you watch them at rampage or at the world cups they never do it as its much slower in reality. Do it when you need to, but if you do it all the time you'll end up riding mega slow and looking like an idiot.
  • JBA
    JBA Posts: 2,852