How to train for ride 24

DRB-10
DRB-10 Posts: 7
Hi all,

I am fairly new to the whole road cycling, so haven't really done a great deal of it.
I have set myself a challenge after signing up for the ride 24 next year from London to Newcastle. It's a scary thought, 300 miles in 24 hours seems ridiculous. I have about 10 months to train for it.
I am just looking for some help in regards to the kind of training I should be doing and also the nutrition part of it.basically any help with any aspect of the training wold be very helpful.

I am not very fit just now so will need to start ASAP with the training and trying to eat proper.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• marcusjb
    marcusjb Posts: 2,412
    Where are you at today? What distance are you riding each weeks and what is the furthest you have ridden to date?

480km in 24hrs - it is a long way, but it is very achievable.

Winter miles equals summer smiles and all that - get the miles in over winter. Do decent long runs at least twice a month (160-200km). Mix it up with hill repeats and other higher intesity work. Riding events like Audax and reliability rides (in spring) will help get the miles in with some company around you.

Some people will recommend that you get a turbo for winter miles - go for it if you can. I don't get on with them at all sadly.

If you are new to long distance cycling, there are a few things you need to work out, but the 2 really important ones are comfort and nutrition.

Comfort - sitting on a bike for 24 hours means that you are going to have want to have dialled your position in so there are no niggles and aches as you ride. On each and every long ride you do, think whether anything hurts - be it your knee, your neck, whatever. Then take steps to make it not hurt next time (ask around here or whatever) by adjusting your setup. As you increase distances, you may find that bits that didn't hurt before, now start to ache.