Rotor Power - using with Garmin spd/cadence sensors

edten
edten Posts: 228
I thought I would share some findings of the above and see if anyone else has experienced similar.

I've been using Rotor Power for a couple of months and had noticed there were power drops on both an Edge 500 and 800. The 800 has the latest firmware, the firmware for the 500 is one version out of date (I think the new firmware means the unit always asks for pm calibration on start up now, which I don't want and I'm hearing there's a bug preventing deletion of files). The power drops were lasting for about 10-20 seconds...frustrating when in the middle of an interval or doing a FTP test.

The bike does have a Garmin spd/cadence sensor. My previous Quarq Elsa also had similar drops and Quarq do recommend disconnecting secondary cadence sensors. I thought maybe this could be a similar issue for the Rotor. However disconnecting the sensor when I had the Quarq did not get rid of the drops. With the Rotor I disconnected the Garmin sensor but again it had no effect on preventing the power drops.

Then recently something dawned on me. If the the sensor is still on the bike with a wheel magnet it will no doubt be waking and sending signals. Considering the proximity - it is very close to both cranks I thought it could be this interfering with the ANT+ signal from the Rotor. I have now removed the sensor of one bike and having done a handful of rides it seems to have solved the power drops. Early days but fingers crossed! It wouldn't surprise me if it was the same issue with the Quarq. A downside is when on the rollers my milage wont be logged but not so fussed about that as I train using time. If this is what was causing the drops then hopefully when racing, any surrounding bikes with sensors will not be close enough to create interference - the proximity certainly isn't as close. I should add that I do use a Garmin HR monitor but this doesn't seem to causing any issues.