Disc brakes what should I go for on my Pro6 build?

aberdeen_lune
aberdeen_lune Posts: 547
edited September 2013 in Commuting chat
I have a Kinesis Pro 6 frame to build up for winter commuting and club winter training rides. I have some nice parts to put on it carbon bars and old dura ace shifters, cranks and mech. ive still to decide on the brakes and wheels. I've been reading with interest MRSs thread on the HYRD brakes. Initially I was sold on BB7s especially the lighter version but I'm now worried about noisy brakes and pad clearance issues.

I am quite comfortable building up a bike but I have no experience of hydraulic brakes. Would I be best sticking with BB7 for simplicity or go for TRP spyrr for the double acting piston or should I go for HYRD and pick up the skills as I build?

I plan to run the bike with road tyres keeping a spare set of wheels with winter spikers for the icy days so ease of wheel change is important to me.

Any experienced advice for a disc brake virgin appreciated.

Comments

• asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    I've used BB5 and BB7s and neither impressed me massively. If the Spyre and HYRD offer improvements in pad setting / clearance and the same level of braking then I'd go for either of them.

As the HYRD doesn't use hydraulic cabling but is self contained within the calliper it should be pretty straight forward to set up.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • rubertoe
    rubertoe Posts: 3,994
    The BB7's that I have just fitted are more than ample enough and after 4 days I can say I am more than suitably impressed!!

or even go for the BB5's and save some money for an upgrade when the full hydraulic road discs become available, HY/RD's although are impressive do seem like a compromise.

Edit - it appears that Asprilla and I disagree in our views entirely :roll: