SPD Pedals after knee surgery

Ian1983
Ian1983 Posts: 10
edited August 2013 in Training, fitness and health
Hi all

I'm relatively new to cycling.................I've been doing a fair bit of cycling for fitness on my old 70's road bike, flat pedals etc...............but I've decided I'd like to take the step up into competitive cycling. My local club does a lot of 10 / 14 mile time trials which are the sort of thing I'd love to have a go at.

I'm intending to upgrade the bike in order to compete but my main concern is pedals. From the research I've done, SPD pedals are the quickest but can cause some knee soreness. Now I've had 4 knee operations in the past 4 years (2 cruciate reconstructions and 2 arthroscopies).

Would the SPD's be likely to cause problems with my knees?

And is there any other sort of pedal I'd maybe be better off with?

Thanks in advance,

Ian

Comments

• antfly
    antfly Posts: 3,276
    It's spd sl for a road bike, they have quite a bit of float in them which helps the knees. People with bad knees seem to favour speedplay pedals though, as they have even more float.
    Smarter than the average bear.
  • Ian1983
    What do you mean by 'float'? And what are 'spd sl' and 'speedplay pedals'? Sorry to ask a load of questions but those terms mean nothing to me!

And yes, I will speak to my physio.............is it more the disengaging with the pedals which can cause knee pain rather than the actual cycling?
  • crankycrank
    crankycrank Posts: 1,830
    Ian1983 wrote:
    What do you mean by 'float'? And what are 'spd sl' and 'speedplay pedals'? Sorry to ask a load of questions but those terms mean nothing to me!