Losing weight, Gaining speed.

pyrowill
pyrowill Posts: 40
Hi guys,

I'm a 16 stone guy, I've been cycling on off for about 5 years now but never really got my diet under control or did it seriously regularly enought o make a huge difference to my waistline other than a few fluctations. However I would say cycling wise I am pretty damn fit for someone like me. I did the London 2 Brighton in 3.5 hours this year. I ride to work about 3-4 times a week (26 miles a day total) and cover the journey there (13 miles) in about 40-45 mins. So I'm not BAD. My legs are like tree trunks lol

However, I'm obviously on the heavy side. In this game of weight is everything, gravity etc. I'm curious to hear stories or read info to perhaps foretell what sort of gains I could see in my cycling if I lost say 3 stone. Perhaps anyone has any personal stories? If I hold 3 stone in my hand it's bloody heavy. I can imagine taking that off my bike must yield amazing increases in speed. I know it will be obvious that losing weight SHOULD mean I should get faster. just curious to hear of any stories from people.

Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    Are you in some way undecided that losing three stone of excess weight would be a good thing..??
  • Grill
    Grill Posts: 5,610
    You will be much faster going up and slightly slower going down. Plus you'll look and feel better and may not die of a coronary in the next 10 years.
    English Cycles V3 | Cervelo P5 | Cervelo T4 | Trek Domane Koppenberg
  • pyrowill
    Imposter wrote:
    Are you in some way undecided that losing three stone of excess weight would be a good thing..??

Not in any way. nor am I disputing the health benefits of losing weight. That would be astronomically stupid.

I was more after hearing maybe some cool stats or some past experiences of speed/performance increases.
  • pyrowill