Sore thigh muscles

Simmo72
Simmo72 Posts: 262
Help. What causes sore thigh muscles after riding (ie next day). It’s at the front (I assume the quads) .
It feels like a typical soreness that you would get after a heavy session but its occurring on what I would consider light rides. Because of this I’m looking at the cause being position related rather than fitness.

My assumption is its saddle position related and I’m putting too much bias on my quads and not using my hamstrings enough. That’s the feeling I have anyway.

Any ideas if there is a general theory for this - saddle too high/low, or too far forward/back. Any advice would be welcome.

Comments

• islandman
    islandman Posts: 73
    I'm far from an expert but maybe your cleat position is worth checking.
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    You have damaged the muscles by using them, either by going very hard, or even at lower efforts for a very long duration. It might be nothing to do with saddle position.

Without knowing your full training and riding history all people will be able to do it fire answers at you. Perhaps give a breakdown as to what you have been doing, has it always been like it, have you changed saddle position, or cleat position recently etc. Without a full history it is pretty pointless to guess.
  • Simmo72
    islandman wrote:
    I'm far from an expert but maybe your cleat position is worth checking.

I did think about that but I'm pretty sure my cleat position is good, I've had it checked and its about the only thing about my position that is spot on!
  • Simmo72