Carlton Kirby

Comments

• mididoctors
    mididoctors Posts: 18,793
    he has got reasonable at recognising the riders but when he tries to explain the whats and the whys it's cringworthy.

improving another few years he may be bearable
    "If I was a 38 year old man, I definitely wouldn't be riding a bright yellow bike with Hello Kitty disc wheels, put it that way. What we're witnessing here is the world's most high profile mid-life crisis" Afx237vi Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:43 pm
  • afx237vi
    afx237vi Posts: 12,630
    GSVBagpuss wrote:
    ddraver wrote:
    The obvious answer is that you have to pay 4 commentators not 2...I think TMS is a very very special case as it is sold worldwide by the BBC

TMS is not that special in numbers terms; Five Live swap commentators halfway through each half, and the horse racing has loads of speakers. Two more commentators doesn't sound like a massive increase in costs to me but I'm no expert. I suppose you could argue that why spend more when we watch Eurosport anyway, there is no alterntaive so why offer a gold-plated service.

The solution is to get rid of the incredibly tedious studio stuff on British Eurosport and send Dan Lloyd and Magnus B to France (rotating co-commentary with Kelly).

I know I've said it before, but the studio completely sucks the atmosphere and excitement out the race, especially when they go back to it so soon after the stage has finished. They even did it last night. What would people rather see, riders being interviewed and DS reaction on the spot, or Sean Yates mumbling in a deathly quiet studio 300 miles from the action?
  • ddraver
    ddraver Posts: 26,661
    I don't always get the Studio stuff as it depends where my dodgy feed comes from. The Non British Eurosport channel just throws to the interviews and keeps going with the standard ASO feed...