rear setup

easyriderkel
easyriderkel Posts: 8
edited July 2013 in Road beginners
Hi im fairly new to road cycling. Iv recently purchased a specialized allez. Im finding im struggling on steep hill (uncomfortably struggling) iv bin advised that i can change the rear cassette. Currently mine has 25 teeth on 1st cog and want to go to something like 27 or 30 teeth. My local evans cycles told me ill need sram cassette (cant remember which 1) but they currently sell it for £19 reduced frm £35. Also will need a shimano 2300 long cage deraillieur which they dont sell and i also cant find on internet. Ill also need a sram 850 chain. Im just wondering if theres any1 on here tht could help me and tell me wether this will b the best setup. My budget will be £100-£150. Thank kel

Comments

• team47b
    team47b Posts: 6,425
    not an answer to the question you asked but how long have you been cycling? Do you live somewhere reallllllly hilly? Are you reasonably fit? (that one means not too overweight) :D

The hills get easier with practice and you get faster, changing the way you approach a hill can help, sitting and higher cadence etc.

After a while you stop using the first one or two back cogs anyway.

What's on the front? 50-34 or 52-39?
    my isetta is a 300cc bike
  • 50/34 front and 12-25 rear. I am overweight about 17 half stone 8( and yes only been road riding approx 3mth. It doesnt matter where i go from my home i hit a hill. Even coming home is uphill i dont know how thts possible haha. I know itl get easier but was just thinking of a quick fix so i dont start to get disheartened because im really enjoying the riding. It would be my intention to switch back to the setup i have now when i becone a better rider.
  • Sprool
    Sprool Posts: 1,022