New to road. Why wear lycra?

rockmonkeysc
rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
edited July 2013 in Road general
Hello. Im new to road cycling and just got myself a nice Boardman road bike and I must admit a road bike is a very efficient way to make my 17 mile commute, its only 15 minutes faster by car.
I have been mountain biking for several years so I just wear my padded baggy shorts and a loose mtb jersey with my mtb spd shoes.
Does lycra give any real advantage? I really dont feel that my clothing slows me down.

Comments

• djm501
    djm501 Posts: 378
    Not really but lycra doesn't flap about in the wind an so is more aerodynamic, doesn't get caught in the chain and can wick away your sweat quite nicely.
    Wear what you want but ridden in the cold and/or wet yet? You may want long trousers and tights beat wearing trousers and clips any day.
  • rockmonkeysc
    I wear tights for mountain biking when its cold.
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    edited June 2013
    It wont make any real difference on a 17 mile ride, but there are benefits of bib-shorts over mtb baggies, due to the less upright position, you will find a bib, stays in place better and puts less restriction around your middle.

Road jerseys also have handy pockets and are a bit longer for the above reason. That is it really. Depending on your setup, you might find the visor on an MTB lid a bit restrictive once you get comfy riding in the drops or with lower bars.

When I took up road cycling I was determined not to "need" the road gear, but bit by bit you swap over. I still ride with my mtb shoes, but they are pretty XC. The other thing you'll notice is the wind when its cold. You need a lot more clothing to ride in the cold on a road bike than you do an MTB. All down to the wind chill.
  • ct8282
    ct8282 Posts: 414