Injured from riding? Or not? Tell us here....

ct8282
ct8282 Posts: 414
edited June 2013 in Road general
I'm just getting into this road riding business and loving it. I read loads of threads over the weeks and couldn't quite understand the passion that most of you have for riding, but now I get it.

However, I also note quite a few threads about people sustaining very serious injuries so this got me to thinking? How common are serious offs and what are the common causes?

So, if you've had a crash or other accident tell us about it. What happened, what injuries were sustained, bike damage, and what was your recovery? Might be worth also mentioning how long you've been riding, what type of riding you do and how often you're out riding.

Also, if you've never had an off or sustained an injury feel free to talk about your riding, what riding you do and how often as well. This will help gauge proportions of riders who have sustained injuries against those who haven't.

Maybe from this info we can start to spot some patterns or things that we should all take into account when we go riding.

Comments

• Nodders
    I'm sorry you don't believe in miracles
  • imposter2.0
    imposter2.0 Posts: 12,028
    choppers
  • Lycra-Byka
    Lycra-Byka Posts: 292
    See my "why did this happen?" thread

My first big crash. Broken bones, cuts ,bruises, hundreds of pounds worth of damage ect.

How do I feel?
    Like I'm desperate to get back on my bike. Initial thought on crash impact was "this is gonna ruin my hard work training this year"

What have I gained from it?
    Scars, more respect towards bike maintainence. First crash fears have been removed.

How do I ride?
    Confident and safe (my own opinion of course)
    Yet aggressive, balls out and do feel I push the bike to its limits not mine.

How long have I been riding?
    Road bikes- a year
    Mtb-10+ years (have switched now, don't own one)

Miles?