Fulcrum Racing Quattro vs Mavic Aksium S

Cycle Runner 888
Cycle Runner 888 Posts: 13
edited February 2014 in Road buying advice
I'm planning to upgrade my wheelset for my bike I don't really want to spend over £300 on a wheelset which ones do u think are better ?

Comments

• Fr Howie
    Fr Howie Posts: 28
    I am no expert on the stuff that really matters, (i.e. how stiff and aero they are) but it is my experience that the free-wheel on Fulcrum wheels is almost deafeningly loud, whilst the Mavic free-wheel runs at a much more sensible volume. This isn't a huge deal, but it certainly swayed me when I was choosing between Fulcrum and Mavic.
  • Mickyg88
    Mickyg88 Posts: 289
    You might consider the American Classic Victory for around the £300 mark, or the Victory 30's for a few pound more, LBS racing team use them this season.
  • duckson
    duckson Posts: 961
    I have Victory 30's and i have no complaints, can only compare them to the stock Ritchey DS Pro wheels that came with my Boardman Team Carbon. On swapping them there was an instant "zing" when riding the bike, more instant acceleration but to be expected as they are a lighter wheelset (1590g vs 1850g or there abouts).
    I didnt buy them new though so payed less than £300 although i'm now going to change them for some Wheelsmith 50mm carbon clinchers or H Son Plus Archetype based custom build, only reason is that I was going to change the bike but decided to keep it this year so I have some cash to spend and a new wheelset seems like a good option! :)

PS the freewheel noise isnt loud, quite a subtle click but very nice sounding, perfect i'd say.
    Cheers, Stu
  • duckson wrote: