Undoing years of poor training?

flanagaj
flanagaj Posts: 36
Hi,

I have been riding for many years, but have always fallen in the trap of going out on 2-3 hr solo / club rides and riding hard. My average heart rate for my rides is always around my AT and I find that trying to do back to back rides at the weekend is always very hard work. Having started reading more into training, I have discovered that a number of articles state that you should spend a good portion of your early periodization in zones 1-2 so that you build a good base for the interval sessions that follow later. For me this is around the 120bpm mark

Well I sat on my turbo for 2hrs yesterday and 2hrs today at average 122bpm and I just about broke a sweat, but did find my legs felt like they had had a work out.

The reason for my post, is that I am keen to get into multi day endurance events / trips where I will be cycling 10/12 hrs per day and want to know whether these very low aerobic training sessions in zones 1/2 will help me with conditioning my body so that it can recover better or am I wasting my time.

Thanks

Comments

• I think you are missing gthe point somewhat.............

You are not training to help your body recover better, you are training to be able to increase the effort at which you can ride your event at, thus you will still need to recover. Recovery is the time in which the body improves and makes itsekf stronger.

Riding for long periods at low intensity is also as much about helping your body adapt to burning the "right" fuel.
  • inseine
    inseine Posts: 5,786
    I think it really depends on how many hours you have to spend on the bike and how you recover ( you mentioned you don't recover too well). If you're riding for 15 hours or more I think these easier efforts might pay off, whereas if you've got less than 10 I think you're better off putting some effort in.
  • flanagaj