that first 100 miler

j.higson
j.higson Posts: 28
hey guys,

im currently in training for my first 100 mile ride, the Manchester 100 to be exact, and wanted to know your training regimes to compare to mine.

at the moment i do 25 miles a day monday to thursday, 10 miles on friday and then I'm going to start doing a 30-35 mile ride on a sunday morning. would it be wise to increase the sunday ride each month or would it be fine to just keep plodding on with this routine?

what kind of diet plans are advisable for this amount of training or do diet plans come into it nearer to the time?

im a complete novice so any help would be brilliant. thanks
Specialized Allez 2013 Compact

Often found on the roads of the North West.....

Comments

• I would look to increase your Sunday ride maybe to around 75 miles as its a big step to do 100 miles if your longest ride is 35 miles.If you can increase your weekly rides a bit as well then that would also help.
    I did my 1st 100 mile last year at the Cheshire Cat sportive and my longest ride before that was about 70.
    I found the amount of time in the saddle the issue,not the extra distance, as your back gets stiff and your arse gets a bit numb but stretching on the bike and altering your hand position on your bars helps.Stretch at the feed stops and sit down if possible.
    Also important to eat and drink regularly during your ride even if you feel ok.
    As for your diet recovery is the main issue as you should look to have a recovery shake and a good carb/protein meal within 20mins of your ride ending.
    If your riding as often as you say then you should be able to eat sensibly without putting on weight or even lose weight if thats what your goal is also.

Im no expert myself but thats what i did and have gone on to do a couple more 100 milers since.

Good luck with it.
  • thanks for the reply man!