HIIT, HR Zones, and Other Training short cuts...

Muffintop
Muffintop Posts: 296
I'm just getting into this type of training, but I've found that I'm taking ages going from zone 5 (100% of heart rate) to zone 2 during the intervals (60% of my heart rate - if I remember correctly). I find that usually around the top end of zone 3 I feel fine - have caught my breath, legs recover enough etc. I'm considering just taking it easy for the 30 secs (or however long it takes me to feel recovered) as opposed to waiting for my HR to come down.

How many folk actually wait until they get to zone 2 when doing intervals, or do you just take it easy over a set amount of time?

What are the other short cuts you guys take? Or that you do, or don't do that flies in the face of smarmy-techno/fitness-babble.

Mx
FCN: Brompton: 12, Tourer: 7, Racer: 4

http://www.60milestonod.blogspot.com

Comments

• You. What?
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    Look at Trainer Road . you can train just using HR if you want to.
    (You dont get any choices when the intervals stop and start by the way.. what hurts wont kill you)
  • Wrath Rob
    Wrath Rob Posts: 2,918
    What intervals are you doing and how long? E.g. 5 minutes at threshold, 2 mins recovery. What's the objective of the workout? Stimulate strength development, lactate clearance or build power/FTP? The interval intensity, duration and recovery time between intervals will be different between all 3 because you're trying to stimulate different adaptations in your body.
    FCN3: Titanium Qoroz.
  • Muffintop
    Cheers for the replies guys!