stupid question prepared for stupid answers

skinnydog1973
skinnydog1973 Posts: 114
edited January 2013 in Road beginners
i am new to cycling and got my first bike last week a bianchi monocoque 928,i have never ridden a bike on the roads and the stupid question i was wanting to know is everyone goes on about average speeds, i was wondering as a new rider what my average speed would be roughly when i first start, i know it all depends on me, im 39 80kgs and would class myself as fit if i was going at a steady pace roughly how fast would that be, i see peolpe go on about 16-20 mph how far would i be behind that, i know i am going to get loads of stupid answers but any would help, where i go would be quite flat ground with the odd mild hill included cheers

Comments

• Phil_D
    Phil_D Posts: 467
    I think the precise answer to this question is 14.
  • tetley10
    tetley10 Posts: 693
    Before we can answer we need some pictures of your new bike. You cant say you have bought a new Bianchi and not show it off. ;)
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Aim to do the first mile at about 25mph, and see how long you can maintain it
  • zx6man
    zx6man Posts: 1,092
    my computers say my average is ROAD 13mph over 2900 miles, MTB 11mph over 2600 miles
  • My new bike
  • your average speed should be all over the place - most people have routes that they know like the proverbial back of hands so know where to put the hammer down and where to take it easy so their avs are likely to be more consistent, part of the fun of starting out is going to new places and getting used to new routes- so just take the time to enjoy the bike and get used to it and let the averages take care of themselves - if you're enjoying, thats all that matters. :mrgreen:
    The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
    momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.
  • nevman
    nevman Posts: 1,611
    ^that.Now keep calm and carry on.