Filling the Void

Sussed out
Sussed out Posts: 189
edited January 2013 in The cake stop
OK, I thought I'd post this in here as I'm horrifically bored and also feeling a little lost at the moment so bear with me.
I've just stopped being a full time athlete after five long years. I've been at the top of my sport, won medals at a world level and had the regime of 2-3 sessions a day, 6-7 days a week, 49-50 weeks of the year.
During November and December, normally my favourite time of the year because of the big workloads and long aerobic sessions, I began feeling frustrated and trapped. The last couple of years have been tough, with some bad decisions around training location and stress over illness/injury resulting in performances at national trials which were not good enough, more recently a big cut in funding and struggling with finances.
I've been doing this sport since I was 12, 12 years ago and have always had a natural talent for it. I've never really wanted to do anything else so when feelings of wanting to be getting on with real life started creeping in it was very scary. Eventually, just before Christmas they got too much and I ended up stopping half way through an important test and breaking down. Making the decision to take some time away was hard but once it was made I felt like a world had been lifted off my shoulders.
The past 3 weeks have been great and weird, having so much time on my hands, not having to diet, get up to train at 6:30 or not having the pressure of performance have made me more relaxed than I have been in years.
I'm currently starting to stew a bit since coming off my mountainbike 2 weeks ago and damaging my ribs and wrist but once I'm back to riding/ running i'll be very happy.