I love my job!

EKE_38BPM
EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
edited July 2014 in Commuting chat
After spending all of my working life in various office jobs (marketing, merchandising, sales etc) I now have what seems to be my dream job.

I am now a Bikeability Cycle Training Instructor, teaching people how to ride (sometimes from scratch) up to riding out on the road in traffic.
Last week an eight year old girl came in on Monday with her bike on stabilisers.
I took those off straight away and spent a little while getting her on two wheels. Next was getting her riding where she actually wanted to go. Then one handed (so that she could signal) and how to do shoulder checks. After that it was out on the road and how to do all of the proper checks (passing side roads, making eye contact with other road users etc) and road positioning (junctions and out of the door zone). Lots of games to make it all fun and learning stuff even when they didn't know they were learning e.g. slow races to learn control.
By Friday we rode from her school in Marylebone up to London Zoo to have a look at the Giraffes and then into Regents Park for a hot chocolate in a cafe before going back to school.
Her confidence blossomed as she went from the weakest cyclist in the group to one of the strongest.
She may not remember me in decades to come, but hopefully she will remember the lessons I've taught her and will have a lifetime safely and happily cycling. This makes me happy.

A few weeks ago I was cycling with a ~70 year old woman who hadn't cycled for over 50 years and wanted to be able to go riding with her grand-daughter. It really is like riding a bike. She was going in no time and just needed some support/guidance. At the end of the session she was met by her son and telling him to meet her in the park with his daughter the next day so that they could all ride together. This makes me happy.

So far this week I've been soaked to the skin both days and freezing cold but I've loved it.