Does a low resting heart rate effect max heart rate?

chris_bass
chris_bass Posts: 4,913
Hi

my resting heart rate is usually around 40-45 bpm, i've gone on a few sites to see hwat my max heart rate should be and they all just ask for age (i'm 28 btw!) and say it should be about 180 bpm. given that this is over 4 times my resting heart rate is this accurate?

i'm very new to all this heart rate stuff but just got a turbo trainer and want to start monitoring it more.
www.conjunctivitis.com - a site for sore eyes

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Jesus............

At the risk of repeating this for the millionth time........

Your max has little to do with the resting HR, your max is NOT derived from some equation, it's unique to you, and the only way to find it is to do a max HR test.
  • Chris Bass wrote:
    Hi

my resting heart rate is usually around 40-45 bpm, i've gone on a few sites to see hwat my max heart rate should be and they all just ask for age (i'm 28 btw!) and say it should be about 180 bpm. given that this is over 4 times my resting heart rate is this accurate?

i'm very new to all this heart rate stuff but just got a turbo trainer and want to start monitoring it more.

I have used a heart rate monitor on and off since 1981. As time goes by the more I know heart rate really is not worth worrying about. As a general rule my resting heart rate is lower the fitter I am but my max heart rate is stable, only the loss of 6 to 10 beats in 30 years. There are so many factors which affect it. Coffee, tiredness, training fatigue, stress, temperature, alcohol, food etc etc. 'Feel' is far more important. Power & Feel is best.

Everyone's max heart rate is different, don't go by age, you must test properly to establish your max.
  • danowat wrote:
    Jesus............

Your max has little to do with the resting HR, your max is NOT derived from some equation, it's unique to you, and the only way to find it is to do a max HR test.