Best 2nd Hand Downhill Bike for £5-600?

a2hgo
a2hgo Posts: 56
edited October 2012 in MTB buying advice
A couple of months back I bought a Cube Acid and did a few XC trails, just recently I've been giving some downhill tracks a go and much prefer it however the bikes clearly not cut out for some of the drop off, loose sections, harsh roots etc.

I've got someone coming to pick the Cube up tonight and have around £5-600 to spend on something more suitable for the downhill.

I've seen Kona Stinkys go for around that price range, are these a good bet?

Comments

• ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    Stinkys are alright, not really full on downhill bikes, but should do what you want. They're probably the best bet though - £5-600 won't get you a lot in terms of downhill bikes really.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • a2hgo
    Yes understand I'm pretty much at the bottom of the range and a bit limited in terms of choice but then as a beginner I don't need anything to fancy.

I guess it doesn't have to even be a full on DH bike, a free ride bike with a bit of travel should suffice.
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    Like I say, a stinky is a good choice - cheap, simple(ish), pretty bombproof and they handle well enough. I know a few mates with stinkys. While they're not top end downhill rigs, they do the job.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • a2hgo
    Nice one buddy!
  • .blitz
    .blitz Posts: 6,197
    A mate had a Stinky up until fairly recently it was a good bike for recreational DH. Dual crown Domains & sticky tyres it wasn't the lightest bike on the hill but it kept going in a steamroller kind of way. IIRC it was £800.

Spesh Big Hits also a popular choice