The times they are a'changin'

124»

Comments

• Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    mudcow007 wrote:
    Greg T wrote:
    Rag and bone man collecting using a horse and cart.

BOB'S GONE MAM!!!!

:lol:

(for Southerners and youngsters: "Mother the money in the electricity meter has run out and you need to put more in" The was generally a low denomination coin such as a 5 pence piece, in later times this became a 50p piece and ultimately (when I was a student!) a £1 coin)

my nan had an 50p meter

anyone have a "pop van" when they were younger, basically a van delivering fizzy drinks an you got money back when dropped the empties off

Corona bottles. The ultimate way to recycle glass.

Yup. We had them.
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • Greg T
    Greg T Posts: 3,266

Yup. We had them.

Ben Shaws.
    Fixed gear for wet weather / hairy roadie for posing in the sun.

What would Thora Hurd do?
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,768
    Using the choke to start the car in the cold. I remember a mate's dad who was a British Leyland mechanic telling us about an old dear that had bought a first generation Metro, repeatedly returning the car to the workshop because it kept kangarooing. My mates dad couldn't find anything wrong with it so eventually asked the lady to take him out for a test drive. First thing she did was pull out the choke and hang her hand bag on it. She thought it was a clever feature for securing her bag rather than a device to alter the fuel/air mixture. :?
    Heard countless variations of that over the years. I think it's just a motor trade joke that gets repeated in various guises. Maybe it did happen once and has done a few laps of the trade, more likely a bit of an urban myth.
  • Greg T
    Greg T Posts: 3,266
    Greg T wrote: