Two female police officers killed.

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    I have no personal experience of a capital crime, no. I like to think that in that terrible situation I would be able to stick by my beliefs but, like many such things, I've no way of saying.

That, to my mind, is one of the reasons why justice should be out of the hands of those affected by such crimes.
    This is exactly right; victims or those close to them are not going to make objective judgements, that's why we favour the judiciary rather than the lynch mob in our society.
  • alfablue wrote:
    I have no personal experience of a capital crime, no. I like to think that in that terrible situation I would be able to stick by my beliefs but, like many such things, I've no way of saying.

That, to my mind, is one of the reasons why justice should be out of the hands of those affected by such crimes.
    This is exactly right; victims or those close to them are not going to make objective judgements, that's why we favour the judiciary rather than the lynch mob in our society.

Except when it comes to dropping bombs on innocent iraqi children - then its "come on lynch mob, we're off for a fight".

By the way who are these lynch mob? No ones ever defined who they are except a vague description of someone whos opinion differs from the status quo.
    The dissenter is every human being at those moments of his life when he resigns
    momentarily from the herd and thinks for himself.
  • So you want to be able to lock people on no charge because there isn't enough evidence to charge them with something the police think they did?

Careful what you wish for...