Training to be race fit all year

steelwheels4
steelwheels4 Posts: 15
edited September 2012 in Training, fitness and health
Just wondering how any of you that compete in TT/Road Races in spring/summer and also in cyclocross/MTB in autumn/winter train to be race fit for all disciplines, is it even possible to do so and be at your best ?

I am in my 3rd year racing on the road and hope to do a cyclocross and MTB race series over the winter, but I want to do as well as I can and dont think I will on my usual winter routine, any suggestions how to manage this ?

Comments

• It's certainly possible to be race fit all year, but form will still vary through the year.

Usually it's managed by having realistic priorities about when you want to have peak form, and training through races / not resting up for races.

It somewhat depends on the fitness level at which you can race, and what your objective is. Some need to be really fit (relatively for them) just to race and be half competitive, whereas others can still race OK even though they are only moderately fit (for them). Some are racing just for enjoyment, no matter their relative fitness, others prefer to race to win and don't bother when fitness is down.
  • During the time trial/road race session I don't ever have any particular race as a priority, I aim to start of reasonably fit in April/May and hopefully get a little stronger during a season based league series ending at the end of August. I certainly do have my ups and downs during the season.
    Now this year I would like to take part in a mtb series and maybe a few cross races, which run from the beginning of October to the 2nd week in January. So again I not not aiming to peak for a race but be consistent enough to possibly earn enough points to move up a category by the end of the series.

I definately fall into the category of having to be really fit to race with any chance of getting to be in the points.