So. Many new people asking you for cycling advice?

2»

Comments

• Jay dubbleU
    Jay dubbleU Posts: 3,159
    jae-so wrote:
    Agent57 wrote:
    "Why wasnt Chris Hoy in the road race? He is awesome."

I've had questions similar to this. For example, why was Cav only in one race? If Froome and Wiggins were good enough to ride the TT after the RR, why wasn't Cav in it as well. And why isn't he on the track if he's such a good sprinter. Reasonable enough questions though, and I just explained the differences in disciplines and stuff. Seemed to satisfy the questioner, anyway.

We did have about 4 or 5 new kids at the Go-Ride club last Saturday. I'm not coaching this weekend, but I dare say we'll have more kids coming along.

Lol please share your answers, I'm a noob so I would like to know why Cav wasn't in the TT lol, my guess is he doesn't have the endurance, but you'd think with his speed he could sustain a fast ride for 27 miles

Cav is a sprinter - he can sustain that pace for maybe 2/300m. TT is about more than just speed
  • Agent57
    Agent57 Posts: 2,300
    Cav is a sprinter - he can sustain that pace for maybe 2/300m. TT is about more than just speed

Yeah, they're different beasts. Cav may have a fast top end, but he can't sustain that for 20km. Wiggins, on the other hand, might not have the acceleration and top end of Cavendish, but he can sustain a higher average output for a longer time. Usain Bolt might rock the 100m, but Mo Farah would spank him over 10k. =)
    MTB commuter / 531c commuter / CR1 Team 2009 / RockHopper Pro Disc / 10 mile PB: 25:52 (Jun 2014)
  • jae-so
    jae-so Posts: 85
    Agent57 wrote:

Yeah, they're different beasts. Cav may have a fast top end, but he can't sustain that for 20km. Wiggins, on the other hand, might not have the acceleration and top end of Cavendish, but he can sustain a higher average output for a longer time. Usain Bolt might rock the 100m, but Mo Farah would spank him over 10k. =)