Nodders

OneForTheRoad
OneForTheRoad Posts: 85
edited July 2012 in Commuting chat
Afternoon all,

Coming in from South Croydon to Southwark Bridge this morning the roads seemed packed not with traffic but with other cyclists, usually I don't see another sole until Brixton Hill.

Most had strange cycling styles, went very slowly and didn't behave particularly safely (RLJ and undertaking at junctions etc). I referred to them as nodders in my head and was for some strange reason tempted to let everybody else know that I've been commuting by bike for about 8 months now and am not simply cycling because of the Olympics or Wiggins.

It got me thinking though:

I don't wear lycra, my commuter is a 20 year old MTB, I drink water from a normal plastic bottle that is stuffed in a normal non cycling rucksack and as I said have been commuting by bike for around 8 months.

On the plus side:

I cycle at a decent pace, I don't think I look strange when I pedal, am very rarely passed, obey traffic laws, am considerate to other cyclists and do approx 15miles each way 5 days a week.

Am I a nodder? If so then when do I stop becoming one?
One for the road.....
The beer not the bike!
FCN 11

http://app.strava.com/athletes/399251

Comments

• dhope
    dhope Posts: 6,699
    I cycle at a decent pace, I don't think I look strange when I pedal, am very rarely passed, obey traffic laws, am considerate to other cyclists and do approx 15miles each way 5 days a week.

Am I a nodder?

No.
    But if you've been commuting for 8 months is the lure of a shiny new road bike not becoming irresistible...
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • jonginge
    jonginge Posts: 5,945
    Who can tell? There are plenty of nodders in full lycra and on bling bikes. ;)

From the penultimate paragraph it sounds like you were never a nodder anyway.
    FCN 2-4 "Shut up legs", Jens Voigt
    Planet-x Scott
    Rides
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,294