Which bike to buy?

Mdon
Mdon Posts: 18
edited July 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi all,

I currently have an old specialized hardrock (can't remember what year it is but is a good 5 years old at least) and after a recent fall off I've decided to buy another instead of repairing it. My budget is only £450 max, I'll only be using the bike on the whinlatter trails in the lakes and some road riding, nothing too serious as I'm only a beginner and don't really intend to go 'hard core' as I'll probably injure myself! Anyhow these are the bikes I've been looking at:

Trek 4300 disc 2012

halcyon talos 2011

felt q520 2012

To be honest I like the looks of them more than anything, so my question is are any of these any good or is there any better spec bikes out there for this price?

Cheers.

Mdon.

Comments

• FatBurt
    FatBurt Posts: 70
    At £450 I suspect most will say save an extra £50 and go for a Voodoo Hoodoo
  • Mdon
    Thanks, I'll have a look. I take it the voodoo is worth the extra £100 over the halcyon & felt as these are both £399 at the minute.
  • FatBurt
    FatBurt Posts: 70
    It got 5/5 in a recent review and everyone on here seems to rate it in the £4-500 bracket.

It's worth a look if nothing else.
  • cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Or put some links up to the bikes you are looking at.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • Chunkers1980
    Chunkers1980 Posts: 8,035
    for £450 you could get some nice forks, wheels and a new drive train and brakes.

Would make a better bike than any of those you list.
  • Halcyon looks ok actually. Decent spec for the money and better fork i believe.

Voodoos
    Rockrider 8.1(best overall spec for £500 you can buy) but a bit over budget.

If you like the black Felt/cube look then it may pay you to look at some of the German sites as they can sell cheaper most of the time.
  • Mdon