Ultra-distance training: reality check?

aka_finto
aka_finto Posts: 72
As seems to often be the case, I'm a long-time lurker, first-time poster, so please be gentle...

I got talking to a family friend at the weekend who rides ultra-distance events and he jokingly suggested that I take it up, even saying I should enter the Race Across the West (http://www.raceacrossthewest.org) if I dared. Given I'm a naturally competitive type, it got me thinking - would it be realistic for me, a relatively new cyclist, to enter a race that's 860 miles long?

I have to say, I'm a realist, so appreciate that it would take a vast amount of training. What I was hoping, was to tap into some of the experience of people on the boards to get some advice, i.e. if it's a total non-starter then I'll focus my efforts elsewhere.

As a bit of background, I've been cycling for about 4 months now, starting with commuting to work (25 miles/day) and then longer rides at weekends. A couple of weeks ago I rode the women's Olympic Road Race course (c.145km) solo, in 5 hours 45 mins, so averaging about 25kph. Whilst I'm relatively new to a bike, I've previously played international representative sport, so can appreciate the commitment that a significant amount of training will entail & am willing to do what it takes.

I'm considering either entering as a solo or part of a 2-man team and thinking of either next summer or, if this is likely to be too soon, summer 2014. As I said, more than happy for people to bring me back down to earth in terms of realism, but just wanted to gauge some thoughts.

Thanks in advance & like I said, be a little gentle to a newbie :wink:

Comments

• thiscocks
    thiscocks Posts: 549
    sounds like you are pretty decent on a bike and you do a decent amount of miles so why not? Might be an idea to just try and do the 70miles (or whatever it is) back to back on consecutive days- that (I imagine) would become tiring even with eating enough.
  • Maglia
    Maglia Posts: 24