Really simple training plan?

bungalballs
bungalballs Posts: 193
Hi All,

I'm new to road cycling and really enjoying it - have been into mtb for a long time, but the freedom of being able to jump on a road bike straight outside the door, and lots of country lanes on my doorstep lured me in! I'm definitely in the beginner category and still learning techniques and gaining confidence etc. I bought the bike with hopes of commuting(on C2W), but will only have the opportunity to commute maybe twice a week at best. It's about 23miles each way though so hopefully worthwhile.

I'm after a very simple training plan, purely to build my strength/endurance/speed to make cycling more enjoyable, I don't have any intentions of racing at the minute (I race my mtb - would be nice if it could make me faster for the winter series!). I'm not interested in timing things, cadence computers, power monitors, hill repeats etc...

All I'm after is something along the lines of; one ride a week as far as you can without worrying about speed, one ride a week say 1hour with a faster average pace, one ride a week 'casual intervals' say a hilly route or with sprints and rests. It would be good if I can count say 1 commute a week as one of these rides - quite happy to extend my return commute if needs be (if/when I'm fit enough!)

Any advice, or can anyone point me in the right direction of articles etc? Thanks!

Comments

• t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    Ride more
  • Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029
    Have you tried pedaling harder?
    CAPTAIN BUCKFAST'S CYCLING TIPS - GUARANTEED TO WORK! 1 OUT OF 10 RACING CYCLISTS AGREE!
  • ShutUpLegs
    ShutUpLegs Posts: 3,522
    Buy a power meter
  • springtide9
    springtide9 Posts: 1,731
    edited July 2012
    Ride more