Should I support Wiggins?

rodgers73
rodgers73 Posts: 2,626
edited July 2012 in Pro race
I'm relatively new to cycling - this will only be the 2nd Tour I've watched. I'm not a particularly patriotic Brit and a person's character is more of a factor behind me supporting them in any sport than their nationality.

That said, it would be good to have a Brit win then Tour and everyone seems to be saying Wiggins is the favourite etc etc.

But - is he a bit of an arse? I haven't much to go on here but have seen a few quotes from him that didn't particularly impress me. Is he a bit of an Andy Murray?

I was happy with Cav winning last year as he seemed like a decent bloke, but didn't he used to be a bit of an oaf as well? Is it just a case that they (professional sportsmen/cyclists) might all be like that but their media training eventually takes over and irons out the rough edges?

Comments

• Crankbrother
    Crankbrother Posts: 1,695
    Feck no!!!

He has a yellow helmet on already ... Tit!

EDIT: Turns out it's ASO's fault ... I'll get back to you with another reason to hate Wigg'o'ins shortly ...

Actually, his stupid nickname/third person nonsense will do ... He's not in the WWE regardliss of the garish lycra and the missuse of drugs ...
  • inkyfingers
    inkyfingers Posts: 4,400
    Support who you like, ignore what anybody else says.

For what it's worth I think Wiggins can be a bit of a knob, but he's walking the walk and not just talking the talk these days so fair enough. Personally I don't care who wins so long as it's a good race.
    "I have a lovely photo of a Camargue horse but will not post it now" (Frenchfighter - July 2013)
  • I actually like wiggo's attitude with the press etc.... you have to listen to how he says stuff. Most of it is very tongue in cheek. It probably just doesn't translate well to text!.

Just support who ever you want. I'm sure no matter who or what team you choose people will pick them to pieces