Bottled it

richie wake
richie wake Posts: 49
edited June 2012 in MTB beginners
Was ridding the forest of dean family route last night , on following a few riders that emerged from another trail , the one shouted go left to the the others, i followed up a bank looked over the top of what looked a steep downhill , i made the misstake of stopping and just could not commit to it :( Anyone else get this, i just feel like such a wuss

Comments

• ElliesDad
    ElliesDad Posts: 245
    I get that effect when I get to the Werewolf Drop on Follow the Dog on Cannock Chase. I'm a beginner and have done the Dog a grand total of three times and each time I psych myself up to do it but when I get to it I turn into a big girls blouse when I get to the top and end up walking down it, I know its easy - push the bars over the top, a*se back and stay off the brakes - but its psychological. Maybe one day!
    2012 Boardman FS Team
    2014 Giant Defy 2
  • are you not ment to barake at all?
  • Briggo
    Briggo Posts: 3,537
    ElliesDad wrote:
    I get that effect when I get to the Werewolf Drop on Follow the Dog on Cannock Chase. I'm a beginner and have done the Dog a grand total of three times and each time I psych myself up to do it but when I get to it I turn into a big girls blouse when I get to the top and end up walking down it, I know its easy - push the bars over the top, a*se back and stay off the brakes - but its psychological. Maybe one day!

You're not the only one, everytime I ride Cannock I always see people line up and bottle it and I'm unsure why, for a drop its not difficult at all. Rode there last month and a group of lads made a comment as I rode down it while they all stood and watched.

What it might be is the tight space with the trees at the top of the drop and the run up to it being very twisty so not allowing you to gather yourself and achieve a straight line with ease.

Easier said than done but just don't overthink it.
  • bennett_346