downhill/freeride

burgess87
burgess87 Posts: 15
edited June 2012 in MTB beginners
hi guys its my first post on here,
basically few friends are into downhill free ride and have full suspension bikes not hardcore cause they have only been doin it for 8 or so months. what it is is that I'm used to hard tail frames and personally feel i can control the bike a lot better but thats prob just cause I'm not used to full s, so i kinda wanna stick to hard tail for a little while and get a feel for the free ride and downhill side cause I'm not gonna be coin massive jumps or drops as yet so kinda just want some direction on what frame to get and should i go for quite a big travel on the front forks.
thanks

Comments

• YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    define "downhill freeride".
    It would appear that most people's definition of DH/freeride is actually just normal trail riding.
  • burgess87
    I'm fairly new to this type of riding usually a road rider but looking for some more adrenaline haha. my friends go to a downhill sort of circuit point a to b and to the top again c the course has drops and jumps and rock carpets so i guess downhill if that sounds right I'm not to sure.
  • YeehaaMcgee
    Ride back to the top?
  • 1mancity2
    1mancity2 Posts: 2,355
    DH is rough and the drops are usually 3ft or more and jumps can range vastly but a small one would be 3ft high and 15ft long, Freeride is bigger drops and northshore type stuff with the jumps being more designed for tricks.

and you won't usually ride back up.
    Finished, Check out my custom Giant Reign 2010
    Dirt Jumper Dmr Sidekick2
  • burgess87