Yeah I broke my record into work!

jonomc4
jonomc4 Posts: 891
edited June 2012 in Commuting chat
Sorry about this boast but I needed to shout it somewhere and it is not as if the non cyclists at work will understand.

I have been cycling into work for about two years now it is an 11 mile commute from Bromley to London bridge area through Lewisham and Rotherhide.

On a normal pootle I do it in about 35 minutes and when I push a bit 32 minutes, once I did it in just over 30 minutes. Today I decided to really go for it - I have always wanted to break the 30 minute barrier! As I had no rucksack today - just a bum bag and I was on my proper road bike it seemed like the perfect time to break 30 minutes.

I did it in 27 minutes 30 seconds!!! 23.8 mph average I am so totally chuffed right now. And if it hadn't been for the red lights and heavy traffic near London Bridge I reckon I could have knocked a further minute off it!

I know this is totally pointless post but I just had to tell someone :)

Comments

• Good work, that is fast.
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    Good stuff. There's nothing like beating your own World Record to work. Congrats.
  • Daz555
    Daz555 Posts: 3,976
    I can get to work in 7 mins so must be the best.
    You only need two tools: WD40 and Duck Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use the WD40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the tape.
  • Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    Good God, and I was chuffed to get a 20mph average for my 12 mile commute!

That is properly fast
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • My 9 mile commute takes as long (or longer) as your 11 mile 'pootle' sometimes. Good effort. Not sure I've got to work in sub 30 before... I blame it on the TLs at TS and CG... that adds on at 'least' 5 mins ;-)
    Why? Because I'm guaranteed a seat all the way in.