Distances and a few other things

PimpMyBike
PimpMyBike Posts: 50
edited June 2012 in Road beginners
Im new to cycling and want to start doing longer distance rides than what I do now . I want to end up doing about 50 miles and I do about 5 now . So how should I train to go longer and what are the distances that I should do ?

And I get a back lower back and bottom after a while of riding , so is that normal and how can I stop it ?

Comments

• snoopsmydogg
    snoopsmydogg Posts: 1,110
    for the ass pain do you wear padded shorts? That can be a big help.

Lower back pain could be getting used to the new position but you may want to look at your current position too. there are many sites that can give you an idea of an online bikefit or even go to your lbs where you bought it.

For distance just build a little each time and you will be covering more miles before you know it.
  • Start measuring distences in km - it feels like you've done more then.
  • Just get out and ride......seriously. The more regular the better. Don't pressure yourself with distances just enjoy it. The 50 will come quickly.
  • mr_poll
    mr_poll Posts: 1,547
    A good search on this forum will help - you will probably find that books on training that you can buy will be a little daunting at this stage (or for a good while, I still cant get my head around VO2 and thresholds etc).

For what its worth when I started I found a loop that was flatish initially took me about 45 mins, the advantage of riding the same route was that it allowed me to see how I was improving. Also it wasn't a huge time commitment - I did that 3 times a week within a month my time was tumbling to close on 30 mins. I then started to increase the loop distance, so the time commitment was back up to 45/50 minutes and tried to get that faster. I also added a weekend ride just bimbling along no time pressure just trying to do some distance, with the odd small climb.