Pro team kits

Comments

• Sicario
    Sicario Posts: 25
    Can someone help me here. I am clearly missing something!

I am brand new to all of "this" so I am clearly missing something.

I want to just buy a top I like the look of, and wear it. So what is a World Champ top and why can't I wear it? If they are for sale, why can't I purchase?

I quite like the look of the Corn Flake & Marmite tops, it is a bit of light hearted fun but if I am going to get the cycling world hate me for wearing a top I like I'd like some "Do"s and "Don't"s.

So what exactly is a World Champ top?
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 72,734
    Sicario wrote:

I want to just buy a top I like the look of, and wear it. So what is a World Champ top and why can't I wear it? If they are for sale, why can't I purchase?

I quite like the look of the Corn Flake & Marmite tops, it is a bit of light hearted fun but if I am going to get the cycling world hate me for wearing a top I like I'd like some "Do"s and "Don't"s.

Wear whatever you like.

When someone is crowned world champion (like Mark Cavendish), they wear the Rainbow jersey to signify they are world champion - rather like the Yellow Jersey indicates you are the overall leader at the Tour de France.

Some people get sniffy about wearing jerseys that are 'won' by professionals - since they feel those jerseys hold a special significance which is eroded if anyone can wear them. Some people even take this as far as any replica professional kit.

In reality, everyone knows you're not Cav.

It's created lot of heated debate on here - but it's safe to say that you can wear what you want!
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Sicario wrote: