Total beginner - would appreciate advice on type of MTB

JKD
JKD Posts: 33
edited May 2012 in MTB beginners
Good morning all. Got directed to this site after asking questions on another forum and it looks very impressive. So I was hoping I could pick your collective brains to decide how best to invest my hard earned :D

Haven't ridden a bike in any form for years now but I really need some exercise that's enjoyable too. I've got a lot of terrain near me good for biking on with woodchip paths round lakes, bogland, woods, country park etc and I've always liked the idea of going on some established trails. And (overly ambitious at this stage I know) perhaps a long term goal of some downhill.

As with everything, budget is an issue. With a ballpark figure of £300, I'd been advised to look towards the 2nd hand market and had presumed full suspension over hardtail would be the best option given what I want to do. But I see from several posts on here that a decent hardtail may be the better option? I'm just under 6ft & 17st.

I'd appreciate some guidance on what boxes I really need to tick for any purchase. Based in Northern Ireland in case that makes a difference for potential retailers.

Thanks for reading. Looking forward to hearing what you all think. :)

Thanks

Comments

• Majski
    Majski Posts: 443
    For that budget a decent hardtail would be better that you can focus on upgrading over time. Some of the bigger brands like Giant and Specialized do some fairly good entry level bikes for that price range. Maybe have a look for some demo days and see if you can try some out to get a feel for them.
  • YeehaaMcgee
    YeehaaMcgee Posts: 5,740
    Even second hand I'd be looking at hardtails for that price. The trouble with full suss is that to get anything worth riding, you have to spend a bit more. And unfortunately, £300 will more than likely just buy you a miserable experience should you go down that route.