Breakfast? and fuel in general

tmsbird
tmsbird Posts: 17
edited April 2012 in Road beginners
Hi everybody just wondering what you do about breakfast before a ride. Most of my free time is early in the morning but I don't like to get up eat breakfast (muesli) and the ride for 2 or 3 hours on a full stomach and getting up even earlier to eat then hang around for an hour before going seem boring.
I'm fairly new to long distances and I'm training up for the dragon ride so I'm experimenting with fueling for longer rides. so any advice around what and when to eat would be useful.
Thanks in advance

Comments

• t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    75g porridge + cinnamon and a splash of maple syrup - 7days a week (this is my first breakfast)

Cinnamon + Raisin Bagel + whole earth choccy spread | Banana | Raspberry tea (second)

Lunch: Often rice/pasta in assorted guises - pretty light as I swim 3-4 afternoons a week.

**What works for me may not work for you,what works for you may not work for me. Nobody can experiment with your body,better than you**
  • springtide9
    springtide9 Posts: 1,731
    You seem to know your choices ;)

I tend to find that getting up and eating a smaller than usual breakfast works best for me; the first 30 mins is a little uncomfortable (and you have to take your time)... but after that the discomfort passed and you are good to go.

'Generally' on rides 3+hrs, I'll eat roughly once per hour (or half 'unit' per 30 mins). But what I eat does depend on how hard or easy the ride is.

Your choice if you prefer real food or 'synthetic energy'.

I personally prefer the 'synthetic' energy bars - mainly because they can sit in the cupboard for months at a time; a bunch of them can get stuffed into a hot sweaty jersey for several hours, and what's not eaten can be put back in the cupboard to be consumed later.