Comments

• mr_ribble
    mr_ribble Posts: 1,068
    Wake up
    2 / 3 x Double Espressos
    17 mile commute
    Breakie : 4 Bananas + 25g Whey + Milk blended into a smoothie
    Snack : Apple / other fruit + strong black coffee
    Lunch : Try to bring in a salad / pasta but if the broker buys lunch its usually pretty unhealthy. Has / Pham / Nandos / Byron etc
    Snack : More Apples + strong black coffee
    17 mile commute home + perhaps some RP laps or an hour on the turbo
    Hot dinner, small pudding. Protein shake if no meat in the meal

Im 6'1 and 14 and a half stone. Used to play rugby, quit a few years back after injury. Lost a lot of upper body weight but still not a rake. Dropped down to 13 and a half stone when doing Marmotte in 2010.

Being a biochemist by trade, I take an interest in genetics and the role it plays in building who we are. One side of my family and generally pretty thin, the other all larger. I seem to have more genes from the latter, which means if I dont ride a lot and continue to eat what I do I put on weight. However, when I exercise it soon drops off. On the flip side, when playing rugby I was also one of the most muscular guys on the field but I've never done weights in my life.

There are guys at work who eat anything they want and are skinny, but I'm not jealous. Going back to the Horizon program on the truth about fitness, the presenter (dunno his name) looked a fit and health and was in no way overweight. Yet when then tested his sensitivirty to glucose it was poor and hios V02 max was something like 29 I think. Diet is important yes, but so is exercise
  • rick_chasey
    rick_chasey Posts: 75,661
    Broker buys you lunch?

Do tell.

a) what kind of lunch and b) what kind of broker?
  • clarkey cat
    clarkey cat Posts: 3,641
    Breakie : 4 Bananas

do get a little 'bunged up'?
  • mr_ribble
    a) Anything thats unhealthy really. Pizza / Haz (Turkish) / Nandos (the middle classes KFC) / Pham Suishi / Byron burgers etc