Music: are you cool?

neilo23
neilo23 Posts: 783
edited April 2012 in The bottom bracket
I loved Queen between the ages of 13 and 15. Discovered punk. Queen = not cool
Loved Marc Almnond 15 - 18 (never was, never will be cool)

I'm going to be 40 this year and I can listen to both in a kind of "loved em in my youth" kind of way, but am old enough to actually not give a shit if they are/were cool. Nowadays bands like Muse say that they were Queen fans. Good luck to em. Who are your embarrassing favourites?

Comments

• graham.
    graham. Posts: 862
    One of the benefits of being over 40 (Possibly the only benefit.) Is that you can enjoy whatever music you wish and not have to feel embarassed, or try to justify it.
    In my teens and early twenties I was a fan of what came to be known as "Prog Rock", I occasionly play it back now, and I can see that some of it was a load of band wagon jumping pretensious twaddle, but a good amount of it stands up really well.
    I work as a photographer on behalf of The Assembly Rooms in Derby and a few months back I got to photograph one of my heros, Steve Howe (Yes guitarist.), It was an intimate performance in the small hall and out of respect for the paying punters I photographed from the wings. He gave me a minor bollocking in the interval for being inhis line of sight, apparently he caught a reflection in my lens as it poked through the curtain!...I was just happy that he spoke to me. :D
  • daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    Graham. wrote:
    One of the benefits of being over 40 (Possibly the only benefit.) Is that you can enjoy whatever music you wish and not have to feel embarassed, or try to justify it.
    THIS.
    I may or may not have been cool when young. I did move with the times (slightly ahead of the curve) back in the day but it doesn't matter now.
    I doubt I could be cool now even if I did everything "right". Fortunately, I don't care.