The more I ride, the fatter I become!

Southgate
Southgate Posts: 246
No. Seriously! I'm 48, in peak condition, and my regular sports are cycling (normally around 120 miles pw - usual club stuff), resistance training (3 x 1 hour sessions pw at elite level), and swimming (3 x 30 min interval sets pw). I'm 5'11 and currently weigh in at 85 kilos, which would be within my "perfect" range, except that when in January I started training for this summer's Etape du Tour, I was a very lean 83 kilos with 14% body fat. And my aim was to maintain upper body muscle mass but compensate for the this weight by losing three kilos of body fat. Instead, I've gained an extra two!

What happened was that as I gradually upped the weekly mileage on the bike from 120 to around 250, I was forced to move from a high protein diet typical of gym-trained athletes, to a more carb based diet ("good" carbs, not refined carbs, sugars and junk food) to fuel the extra cycling.

Result: super high fitness levels across all disciplines (especially cycling of course), but also an unwanted weight gain together with a small but noticeable increase in fat around the stomach area. It's not a vanity issue - from an aesthetic point of view I actually prefer my current weight. It's just that come July, I'd much rather be lugging 80 kilos over the Alps and Pyrenees, than 85.

So I guess my question is has anyone else experienced this problem, and if so, what was their solution? I know I can lose the weight by re-balancing my nutritional regime back towards a higher intake of protein, but it leads to me running out of gas on longer rides. I've thought of four things to try:

1. Alternating high protein days with high carb days, but it might not be very effective and God knows what it would do to my digestive system.

2. Switching to a high protein diet for seven consecutive days each month, and just cycle through the consequent discomfit.