Specialized Stumpjumper for just under 400 quid

danm004
danm004 Posts: 15
edited March 2012 in MTB buying advice
Hi guys,

New to the forum here - so, hello!

I made the mistake of purchasing a bike off eBay last year to get me to and from work, worst decision ever as, although it was claimed to be high(ish) spec, it was crap, the suspension seized up and the seat wouldn't tighten.

What do I want a bike for?
Ideally it'll get me the 9km to and from work every day, be comfortable to ride and nice to look at. I'd also like to use it a lot in the summer, not to go heavy-duty mountain biking, but to go to the lakes and cycle round, maybe on different terrains, etc

I wanted to see what my budget of 400 quid would get me. Not bothered what make (I am a beginner) as long as it has a good reputation and it is a good bike. Having searched eBay I found this Stuntjumper:

5851cd0_20.jpeg

Would this be fit for my purpose? It's just... the price seems too low for this bike, right?

Looks like the business, and a great price, right?

Thanks for advice!

Cheers.

Comments

• cooldad
    cooldad Posts: 32,599
    Impossible to say from a bad photo, depends on condition etc - needing new forks or something would blow your budget.
    Pretty old though and sounds a bit high to me.
    You might be better off looking at a new Rockrider from Decathlon, or a Carrera from Halfords.
    I don't do smileys.

There is no secret ingredient - Kung Fu Panda

London Calling on Facebook

Parktools
  • danm004
    Thanks for the reply and advice.
    I'm going to see the bike tonight, but obviously as I am a big-time newbie am not quite sure what to be looking out for.

You think the price is too high if the bike is say, four or five years old but in great condition?

Could you perhaps tell me what you'd check on a bike if you were visiting it with a view to purchase it?

Thanks a lot.
  • styxd
    styxd Posts: 3,234
    Its a dead old bike with shite parts. £400 is too much.