FAO disk brake lovers...

1235»

Comments

• Stevo_666
    Stevo_666 Posts: 61,111
    rjsterry wrote:
    @Stevo 666: different definition of fun is all - it's nice to feel you've earned that descent.
    Yeah, I know what you mean.

Thing is with MTB descents if you cheat and use a van or a ski lift to get to the top you can do loads of descents in a day - even more fun :-) (I'm just getting into downhilling and it's bl00dy good).
    "I spent most of my money on birds, booze and fast cars: the rest of it I just squandered." [George Best]
  • veronese68
    veronese68 Posts: 27,770
    Going downhill off road can be quite tiring, it's not like you can just sit there. At the end of the London to Brighton off road I was utterly knackered and from the top of the downs the final descent had a couple of little drops that shouldn't present any problems. But after 75 miles off road just standing on the pedals and lifting your front wheel seems a lot harder than it should be.
  • mtb-idle
    mtb-idle Posts: 2,179
    edited March 2012
    Stevo 666 wrote:
    rjsterry wrote:
    @Stevo 666: different definition of fun is all - it's nice to feel you've earned that descent.
    Yeah, I know what you mean.

Thing is with MTB descents if you cheat and use a van or a ski lift to get to the top you can do loads of descents in a day - even more fun :-) (I'm just getting into downhilling and it's bl00dy good).

That's right. I'm a mountain biker by trade although a keen commuter via road bike (horses for courses and all that).

Going to the Alps for two weeks in July. Week 1 to do lots of lift-assisted MTB decending. On the first day of my trip in 2010 we did 16,000 vertical feet of descending. Was glad of my hydraulic disc brakes then (or 'liquid' brakes as i think yer typical bike thief refers to them). 'specially when you have to pee on the rotors at the bottom of a long descent to cool them down.