Any tips on running for a fat lad?

Dan Ingram
Dan Ingram Posts: 79
Bit of an odd question for a cycling forum I know.

I started riding my bike last spring with the aim of getting fit and losing weight (started at 114kg). I was riding 60-80 km in the evenings during the week and then a 70-100km ride on a Sunday. Average speed is now up to 25 kmh. I got down to 103kg just before Christmas but then the weight loss has levelled off since then. Probably down to eating to much over Christmas and doing less miles due to the weather.

I thought I'd try running a couple of nights a week while I'm not riding my bike and I'm on the field walking the dog anyway. The idea was it would help improve my fitness faster and help with the weight loss ready for the better weather. I haven't run any sort of distance since cross country (which I was terrible at) in school 15 years ago.

I'm really struggling to run at all. I can run for a couple of minutes then I feel completely wrecked so walk for a couple of minutes then I can run again for another couple of minutes. I can do that a few times and then I just feel terrible. I find it very difficult to relax my upper body, probably because I'm tensing to stop my gut wobbling about :lol:

Am I expecting to much? I was sort of thinking I'd be able to do a couple of laps of the field and not feel to bad because I've upped my fitness on the bike. Is it worth carrying on as I am and hoping for some improvement or should I just give it up as a bad job and stick to the bike :lol: ?
2011 Specialized Camber Pro
2012 Specialized Roubaix Elite

Comments

• t.m.h.n.e.t
    t.m.h.n.e.t Posts: 2,265
    Its worth persevering,running and cycling use different primary muscle groups so bike fitness doesnt directly become runfit.

Just take it easy and increase distance slowly
  • Zoomer37
    Zoomer37 Posts: 725
    Can't you just use that time to get on the bike instead?