Training twice a day

Dalius
Dalius Posts: 10
Hi,
I'm not English, thus sorry for mistakes.
Recently I started training two times a day on Tue, Thu, Sat, Sun (only once a day - ride): early morning - short (~20-30 min) but hard resistance training, after work - ~60 min intervals on a indoor trainer (at the moment, due to much snow outside). The intervals always vary. Sometimes I do longer ride on Sundays, but my races usually last for about 1:30h.
So I wanted to ask for your opinions about that training program. So far I feel fairly well, it seems that my legs are getting stronger faster. Does anyone do like that, or is it better to avoid such combination?

Comments

• jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810
    If you only have time to do two sessions, then splitting it will cause you no problem. It doesn't matter a whole lot how you get your total volume, just that you get it. As long as the double days don't have you doing more than you're ready for, I'd keep doing it.
    Jibbering Sports Stuff: http://jibbering.com/sports/
  • I found doing two shorter (but not very hard) sessions on the turbo was a good alternative to doing one long session last winter - mostly less mentally wearing! I think as long as you are recovering and coping with the work you should be fine but there could be a cumulative effect after a few weeks - that you getvery tired/ an unexpected cold/overuse injury for example. Try varying the volume over the month - more some weeks than others etc?
    Are you in Sweden BTW?
  • Dalius
    Thanks for replies.
    I am Lithuanian :) I always take a recovery week after 3 or 4 intensive weeks and I try to have a good rest between workouts. It's a good notice about boring long sessions on a trainer. Therefore I decided to do two shorter but intensive workouts.
    Actually I am preparing for cross country races, MTB marathons, etc., therefore I included some resistance training to strengthen muscles
  • Herbsman
    Herbsman Posts: 2,029