Best way to spend my time for race preparation

imtooslow
imtooslow Posts: 3
Hi all

I ask this question as I am fairly new to racing, this will be my 2nd year, and because my winter training only began at the end of December due to surgery and injuries sustained in a crash in my last race last season. I have a lot of catching up to do !

Basically I am a Cat 4 racer with about 6 hours a week to train, maybe between 8 and 10 hours when there is more daylight.

For the past 7 weeks I have been doing 2 or 3 turbo sessions building up from 2x10, 2x15, 3x10 etc now at 2x20, and some sessions now of 5x5.

I get 1 or 2 road rides between 1.5 and 2.5 hours.

My CTL according to Golden Cheetah is at 40 now, it has risen from 6 on 14th December. My FTP is currently around 235 tested indoors, have not tested outdoors yet it could be a little higher.

Last season I was riding 10TT at between 285 and 300 watts.

Since I have started training late, and from such a low level of fitness due to not training for over 3 months, I will not be doing the early season races during Feb and early March, but my favourite race of the year fall on the 24th March, I would like to do it.

Based on my level of fitness at the moment, and the time I have to train, how do you think I should spend the next 5 or 6 weeks.

Comments

• glasgowbhoy
    glasgowbhoy Posts: 1,341
    I'm sure the coaches will be along soon with advice but would think if you are road racing you've got it a bit back to front and should maybe have started with endurance rides to build stamina and spent the last 3-4 weeks before your first race working on intervals and speed work.
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173