Employment Dispute & Tracing a Mobile Number

nweststeyn
nweststeyn Posts: 1,574
edited April 2012 in The bottom bracket
Hi guys,

Looking for a bit of advice. I'm a theatre/venue technician at a large concert hall in Scotland. The venue is local govt. run. As well as technical tasks, I also double as front of house management. Around 4 months ago (3 years into my employment), myself and my colleagues were ordered to carry out a task of removing the waste traps below the 21 urinals in the building, cleaning them out by hand (and advised to use a chisel to chip off the calcified urine buildup) and re-fit them. I am not of the most strong-stomached disposition, so I raised a concern that while 'general cleaning assistance' is a bullet point listed in our job description, this goes beyond that and not only is it unreasonable to expect us to carry it out, we are untrained in working with plumbing fixtures, and I know I will not be able to carry out the task without vomiting.

To me, it's a simple case of a) it's not my job and b) it will (and has) directly affect my health and wellbeing in the workplace. Since being ordered (not asked) to do it, i've felt anxious and worried about having to do it.

My concerns we're raised after speaking to a number of City Council plumbers who assure me it is THEIR job, and a particularly unpleasant one at that. In addition, they have also indicated they have far more effective and safe ways to clear any buildup in urinal traps and surrounding plumbing without scraping it out by hand. I stated to my boss that while we had gone 3 years without having any sort of problem and carrying out any work asked, I was uncomfortable doing this and was concerned for my health. A number of meetings followed where she would not budge, and resulted 3 months later, in a statement from my boss that I would face disciplinary proceedings if I didnt carry out the work.