Newbie Training Advice

DylanM
DylanM Posts: 26
I have not cycled for maybe 3 years and my fitness is pretty much gone, but I have now decided to get back into it.
I have a few questions.

I have started using my turbo trainer and following the CTS Cycling for Fitness 60min workout.
Should I always try and have a days rest afterwards?
My plan is to do this workout 3 days per week for the first few weeks then maybe go up to four.

Would doing some swimming once or twice a week be a good idea to improve fitness in addition to my cycling?

I bought a new cycle computer that has a HRM, which I have never used before. If on some parts of the workout, I'm up at my max heart rate. I'm guessing this is ok to train at this level, or is it the more you can push towards your maximum the better?

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    You may or may not need a rest day after a session, that depends entirely on your situation, how tired you feel etc.

I would say build up, either intensity or volume, gradually. Other sports will help with general fitness, but they are unlikely to help much with cycling fitness.

With regards to your MaxHR, unless you have determined this with a MaxHR test or took your HR from the end of a 10 mile TT for example, I wouldn't worry too much about what the Garmin reports, you might not actually be near your true MaxHR. Getting fit is not all about pushing to the maximum each time though, if you have to have a day off the bike after each session, then easing off slightly and getting on the bike more regularly would help better with fitness.
  • jgsi
    jgsi Posts: 5,062
    Building a solid base fitness on 3 or so hours per week? Emphasis on the word 'base'.
    Difficult I would think.
    Swimming is nice but a side line for this.

Dont know about the CTS training vids, but Spinervals do do a 'base building' dvd set.
  • DylanM
    DylanM Posts: 26