Weight loss for the festive period

shedhead
shedhead Posts: 367
edited November 2011 in Training, fitness and health
Hi all,

Okay, so i am 6'2" & currently am 99 kgs. I have been away on business for a year & put 14 kgs on !! I know, i know. Is it possible for me to lose 14 kgs by dec 23rd? without killing myself ? I can now commute every day beteween then & now on the bike, shortest is 10 miles each way. My question is do i try i get up even earlier (i get up at 5.30am now) and do longer less intense, or stick with the 10 each way & cane it? Soon i will be on the fixed gear, but i have been doing fixed in winter now for about 7 yrs so i can cane it on that no problem.

Any dietry advice would also be welcome, but i generally know my stuff there as i used to be a semi- pro footballer, quick weight loss advice i guess i'm after, although slow is always best i know. Just trying to shave a lot off before the onslaught of santa.

Many thanks in advance :D
'Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts'.

Comments

• Almost 4 pounds a week?

Yes, it's possible. No, it's not likely you can do it without picking up a tapeworm or some sort of virus.

Half that amount in probably more realistic. And even that will take a lot of hard work and effort to do week after week.
  • richa
    richa Posts: 1,631
    IMO. Stick to the 10miles each way (30-40mins?) and do longer rides at the weekend. Avoid Long & Slow - go with Short & Hard, or Long & Quite Hard.
    Rich
  • RichA wrote:
    IMO. Stick to the 10miles each way (30-40mins?) and do longer rides at the weekend. Avoid Long & Slow - go with Short & Hard, or Long & Quite Hard.

from a few bits i have read it seems best to ride at 68-79% for your max heart rate. BUt was other have said i think its unlikely you would loose that much weight and if you did chances are you would get sick, just ride more, eat the write stuff and correct amount and see how it goes
  • doyler78