A couple of conundrums......

ziggycycledust
ziggycycledust Posts: 25
Hello, still a relative newbie so i apologise if these q's have been answered but i couldn't find them by searching!

1. Just over a month in i have built up a reasonable base of mileage (obviously i know i have a long way to go!) I want to start hill reps but i live in a completely pan flat area (i know my profile says Aylesbury, but I'm a student living in the US on a study abroad year till May!) The only hill within 20 miles is at max 150 metres long..... is it worthwhile doing short fast hill reps up this or will it not really benefit me! I mean, i could cycle 20 miles and get some good hills, but I'm not strong enough to do a full repetition session with a 20 mile each way warm up/down If the 150 metre hill is not sufficient, is there any way of replicating hills on a turbo?

2. Regarding turbo/roller debate... because I'm a student i have a severely limited budget so really don't want to fork out.... but need to train indoors as it gets unbelievable cold/snowy here! Is there any benefit in using a cycling machine (which i have free access to) as i literally have never found a post regarding this... or are these solely reserved for the gym monkeys to sit back, relax and watch sky news on?

Comments

• Pokerface
    Pokerface Posts: 7,960
    1. Put it in a big gear with high resistance and pedal slowly.

2. Yes - there is always a benefit to any form of cycling, even on a gym bike. Not as god as the real thing but better than not cycling at all.

(Not sure about answer 1 but something along those lines).
  • Concentrate on increasing the distance you ride, hills reps aren't much good if you run out of stamina after 50km. Increasing your riding up to 100km will improve you all round, both strength and endurance and maybe you can find some hills within this radius. It takes a few years to build up cycling physiology.