Total noob

asprilla
asprilla Posts: 8,440
edited October 2011 in Commuting chat
Righto, The Mighty Pickle turns two in November and it turns out that one of the parks near us has a decent cycle / scooter track maintained by Mercedes so I want to get her some form of transport for her birthday.

So, the question is; do I get her a scooter, a balance bike or a trike?

I want to get her a balance bike, but they seem pretty expensive for something that she's likely to grow out of it pretty quickly whereas a scooter seems to suite kids from 3' to 5'.
Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
Sun - Cervelo R3
Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX

Comments

• gtvlusso
    gtvlusso Posts: 5,112
    We have one of these for junior:

http://www.toddlebike.co.uk/

However, I would go down the scooter route......We also have abalance bike that I got seconhand for £35.
  • EKE_38BPM
    EKE_38BPM Posts: 5,821
    Seeing as the track is maintained/sponsored by Mercedes, how about one of these:
    B67874123a-500x375.jpg With the track ends, you could replace the freewheel with a track sprocket and it is now a fixie! Take both of the brakes off and cut the handlebars down to about 20cm and you'll have a junior hipster's bike!

I'm joking, but I would probably get a normal kids bike and take the pedals or the whole crankset off, thus turning it into a balance bike.

Let the Mighty Pickle get used to balancing and then replace the pedals/crankset. That way you get a balance bike and then it can revert to a normal kids bike once she has her balance (a few hours later).
    FCN 3: Raleigh Record Ace fixie-to be resurrected sometime in the future
    FCN 4: Planet X Schmaffenschmack 2- workhorse
    FCN 9: B Twin Vitamin - winter commuter/loan bike for trainees

I'm hungry. I'm always hungry!
  • joelsim
    joelsim Posts: 7,552
    My boy has a scooter that has seen lots of service over the last 2 1/2 years, great value in fact.